I am BRAND NEW to anime!!

EmotionalEater

Reaction score
Hi all,
Just joined the forum and have just started watching anime, literally today. I am currently watching Prison School because it made me lol about 3 minutes in so I was hooked. It is dubbed and I know that opens a huge can of worms for the anime community.
My questions for everyone are:

- What anime should I watch? I enjoy the comedy genre, but am open to others.
- Sub or dub?

Acteon

Editor
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.animeindependent.net
Hi, welcome to the forum (and wider world of anime!) First thought is how lucky you are, so many great shows to experience for the first time!

I don't think you need to worry about dubs or subs, it's persoal preference, and sometimes the first version you're exposed to makes it iconic, like Tenchi or Cyber City Oedo.

Comedy is a bit more subjective I fid, I'm not a huge fan of overly slapstick stuff, but Tenchi Muyo (MVM) is pretty funny, and if you like lewder stuff, Monster Musume will probably be a hit. You might also try the gambling anime on Netflix, Kakegurui.

Oh, and Nadesico. Definetely Nadesico.

On a broader scale, Your Name is a wonderful film, Please don't tease me Miss Nagatoro is a fun show, and forfantasy drama, Rising of the Shield Hero is pretty epic.

Reactions: EmotionalEater

EmotionalEater

Reaction score
Hi, welcome to the forum (and wider world of anime!) First thought is how lucky you are, so many great shows to experience for the first time!

I don't think you need to worry about dubs or subs, it's persoal preference, and sometimes the first version you're exposed to makes it iconic, like Tenchi or Cyber City Oedo.

Comedy is a bit more subjective I fid, I'm not a huge fan of overly slapstick stuff, but Tenchi Muyo (MVM) is pretty funny, and if you like lewder stuff, Monster Musume will probably be a hit. You might also try the gambling anime on Netflix, Kakegurui.

Oh, and Nadesico. Definetely Nadesico.